Wednesday, August 31, 2011

Little Black Dress by Susan McBride

     I received this book for free from Goodreads first reads.

     From the book's cover:

    Two sisters whose lives seemed forever intertwined are torn apart when a magical dress gives each one a glimpse of an unavoidable future.

     Antonia Ashton has worked hard to build a thriving career and a committed relationships, but she realizes her life has gone off track. Forced to return home to Blue Hills when her mother, Evie, suffers a massive stroke, Toni finds the old Victorian where she grew up crammed full of secrets as it is with clutter. Now she must put her mother's house in order - and uncover long-buried truths about Evie and her aunt, Anna, who vanished fifty years earlier on the eve of her wedding. By shedding light on the past, Toni illuminates her own mistakes and learns the most unexpected things about love, magic, and a little black dress with the power to break hearts...and mend them.

    This story is told in two different time frames by two different people. The mother (Evie) is telling the story in her younger years. Her sister is getting ready to be married and the sisters stumble upon a gypsy who sells Anna a magical dress. However, the dress comes with a warning: "The dress will make happen what's meant to be. Once you see your fate, you can never go back." After putting on the dress Ana decides she can't go through with the wedding and leaves.

   The dress is present in many lifechanging events and eventually brings family back together.

     What I liked about this book:
     I enjoyed Susan Mcbride's (the author) eloquent way of writting. This story doesn't tie itself up in a neat little bow at the end. But somehow you feel like they are going to be okay. The characters were likable and felt more like real people.

     What I didn't like about this book: Nothing, I loved it all.

    I recommend this book for: Fans of Jodi Piccoult, If you enjoyed Sisterhood of the Travelling Pants, Readers who like stories about family.

    Overall rating: 5 Shells.
    Little Black Dress

Monday, August 29, 2011


     Hello! I am new at blogging, but wanted to try my hand at book reviews. I started reviewing books on goodreads and loved it. I have won a few advanced readers so far, so I may import what I wrote over there.

     I read many different genres, so there is something for about everyone. My opinions on the books I review are what I honestly think of it. If there is a book you would like to see reviewed feel free to email me. Lastly, you may not always like my opinions on books, and while it is okay to express your differing opinion please be respectful in your comments. I think that is all for now, reviews to follow.

    Have a beachy keen day!